Find us on the Book of Face Icon Members' Area

Jun 2017: Main site and members' site now spilt. Please report any issues! Join Now! | Mon, 27/01/2020 - 10:26

The Debbie Warley Trophy - awarded for service to ballooning

Debbie loved ballooning, she died very prematurely in her early 30s, after her struggle against cancer. Prior to her death, she wished to bequeath a prize to British ballooning and the BBAC, to commemorate the happiness and friendship the sport had given her.

The trophy, a beautiful glass prism on a glass plinth, in a hardwood box, is now a treasured item in the BBAC Trophy 'cabinet'

Debbie Warley is pictured here, ballooning (remember in those days there were no such things as flexi-rigid poles, hence the crash helmet, a sensible precaution as the burner might 'bash' you on your head during landing, if you weren't paying attention)

The Trophy is presented, as her request, for service to ballooning to the winner of the nominations.

It is open to any BBAC member to make their nomination to the Records and Awards Committee Chairman, who with the Committee once the nomination is ratified and passed to the BBAC Main Committee, will arrange for it to be presented on behalf of the BBAC by The President at the next BBAC Annual General Meeting.

Debbie will be remembered for her good humour, her infectious laugh, her determination to have fun and The Debbie Warley BBAC Trophy.

Trophy Holders

1982	Anne Lewis-Smith 
1983	Peter Bish 
1984	Rodney Whittaker 
1986	Ann Brown 
1991	Kevin Meehan 
1992	Nigel Tasker 
1994	Giles Camplin 
1996	Mike Moore 
1997	Charles Saffery 
1999	Julia Dean 
2000	John Baker 
2001	Derek Grimshaw 
2002	Andy Caie 
2004	Marcus Green
2007	Peter Vale
2008	Derry Moore
2010    Crispin Williams
2011    Hannah Cameron
2012    Liz Meek
2013    David Court
2014    Barbara Moreton
2015    Phil Dunnington