Find us on the Book of Face Icon Members' Area

Jun 2017: Main site and members' site now spilt. Please report any issues! Join Now! | Mon, 27/01/2020 - 09:42

The BBAC British Grand Prix Championship Medallists

The British Hot Air Balloon Grand Prix Championship Series is organised by the BBAC Competitions Club on behalf of the BBAC.

Full details of competition flying may be found on the Comps Club website, but a list of medallists is reproduced here.

Year 1st 2nd 3rd
1984 David Bareford Ian Jacobs David Cole
1985 David Bareford Ian Jones Colin Wolstenholme
1986 Ian Bridge David Bareford Geoff Bacon
1987 Colin Wolstenholme David Bareford Ian Bridge
1988 Ian Bridge Tony Brown David Bareford
1989 David Bareford Ian Bridge Colin Wolstenholme
1990 Ian Bridge Phil Hossack Tony Brown
19911 David Bareford Ian Bridge Crispin Williams
19922 No contest No contest No contest (poor result)
1993 David Bareford Neil Gabriel Lindsay Muir
1994 David Bareford Chris Duppa-Miller Colin Brown
1995 Colin Brown David Usill Chris Duppa-Miller
1996 Neil Gabriel Colin Brown David Bareford
1997 Neil Gabriel David Bareford Crispin Williams
1998 Crispin Williams N/A N/A
19993 Andy Booth Neil Gabriel Nick Bates
2000 David Bareford Crispin Williams Neil Gabriel
20014 No contest No contest No contest (foot & mouth)
20025 Richard Parry Andy Booth Marcus Green
2003 Andy Booth Neil Gabriel Andrew Holly
2004 Marcus Green Tim Charlwood Mike Howard
2005 David Bareford Marcus Green Lindsay Muir
2006 Lindsay Muir David Bareford Mike Howard
2007 David Bareford Mike Woodcock Andrew Holly

1Scoring system for 1991 scores the best 50% plus 1 other

2Competition declared invalid

3Joint nationals with the Dutch & Belgium in the Ardennes

4No events due to Foot & Mouth disease

5Joint nationals with the Dutch & Belgium in the Ardennes