Find us on the Book of Face Icon Members' Area

Jun 2017: Main site and members' site now spilt. Please report any issues! Join Now! | Mon, 27/01/2020 - 10:47

The Salomons Trophy

The Salomons Trophy was established in 1988 and awarded annually for an outstanding performance by a British aviator in a flying apparatus or device designed and built in the United Kingdom..

Recipients of this award in the field of ballooning are:

1990 Don Cameron and Gennardi Oparin
1991 Andy Elson, Leo Dickinson, Chris Dewhirst, Eric Jones
1999 Don Cameron

Don Cameron has made a very major contribution over many years to the design of hot air balloons. His development of the Rozier hot-air/helium hybrid concept enabled the trans-Atlantic and then round-the-World flights to be achieved. He has also been responsible for the development of commercial balloon operations, including a great variety of special-shape balloons and hot-air airships. He is a very experienced balloon pilot and has flown his own designs in many competitions and record attempts.
2003 David Hempleman-Adams

In September 2003 David Hempleman-Adams achieved the first Atlantic crossing in a balloon with an open wicker basket. The balloon was a British-made Roziere 90. Starting from New Brunswick, the flight took 83 hours, during which some severe weather including heavy rain and freezing temperatures were encountered, but finished with a safe landing near Blackpool. Earlier in the year he had made a 30 hour flight in USA from Pittsburgh to Boston.
2011 David Boxall

Dave was awarded the trophy for his design work on the Cameron gas balloon, first flown in the 2010 Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett by Simon Carey and David Hempleman-Adams